Tag Archives: Alcohol Beverage Control Board

City Council approves slew of appointments

City Council last night approved a series of appointments to municipal boards, including filling a vacant seat on the Redevelopment Agency.

Continue reading City Council approves slew of appointments

City Council approves board appointments

City Council confirmed four appointments to city boards and agencies, including two long-vacant seats on the Redevelopment Agency and Parking Authority. Continue reading City Council approves board appointments

Vacancies filled on Redevelopment Agency

City Council approved almost 20 appointments to various boards and agencies, including filling two vacant seats on the Redevelopment Agency.

Continue reading Vacancies filled on Redevelopment Agency

Two redevelopment commissioners reappointed

The City Council unanimously reappointed two commissioners to the Redevelopment Agency, four members to the Zoning Board of Adjustment and one member to the Alcohol Beverage Control Board. The governing body approved Resolution AR-22-14 at its Jan. 13 regular meeting.

Timothy Nash of Central Avenue and Paul Sefranka of Milton Boulevard will serve on the Redevelopment Agency through 2018. The City Council in December appointed two new commissioners to fill vacancies on the seven-member board.

CDH155x155Reappointed to new four-year terms on the Zoning Board (through 2017) were James Pellettiere of East Grand Avenue and Egon Behrmann of Brookside Road and alternates Paula Braxton of Thorn Street and Richard Willis of Bryant Street to two-year terms (through 2015).

Former Redevelopment Agency commissioner Matthew Dobrolowski of West Hazelwood Avenue was reappointed to a full three-year term (2016) on the ABC Board.

Redevelopment Agency gets two commissioners

The City Council this month approved two appointments to the Redevelopment Agency, filling two vacant seats and bringing the board to its full complement of seven commissioners.

Continue reading Redevelopment Agency gets two commissioners

New commissioner for Redevelopment Agency

Michael Staryak was unanimously confirmed by City Council on Monday night as a commissioner to the seven-member Redevelopment Agency, replacing Nancy Saliga, whose term expired. His four-year term runs through 2016.

Saliga was a commissioner since the inception of the agency more than a decade ago. She first was elected as an at-large City Council member in 1990, and her current term expires in 2014. Staryak has served for many years on the Board of Education and his current term concludes this year (.pdf); no word on whether he’ll seek re-election to the school board.

Unlike a few other recent appointments put forth by Mayor Rick Proctor, Staryak’s appointment was confirmed unanimously by the governing body, along with a new Republican commissioner on the Alcohol Beverage Control Board (Eric Rickes, 2014) and a member of the Zoning Board of Adjustment (Andre Bryant, 2015).

Council rejects pair of mayoral re-appointments

The City Council tonight unanimously rejected two re-appointments proposed by Mayor Rick Proctor amid several others that were approved, while also dismissing a local “pay-to-play” ordinance.

Rejected were the re-appointments of George Wagenhoffer, a Republican, to a three-year term on the Alcohol Beverage Control Board and Josh Donovan to a four-year term on the Zoning Board of Adjustment. However, two other re-appointments to the Zoning Board — William Hering (term through 2015) and Paula Braxton (alternate, 2013) — were approved. In a separate resolution, Ray Lopez was approved to fill a vacancy on the Zoning Board through 2012.

City Council members had no comment, not even any comments unrelated to business on the agenda, which they sometimes offer in their end-of-meeting reports. Council President Samson Steinman, who pulled the affected resolutions from the consent agenda, declined to comment on the failed re-appointments following Monday night’s meeting. (The consent agenda allows the governing body to combine routine resolutions into one vote but a council member can pull them out to be voted on separately, as was the case with several tonight).

Among the appointments that gained approval were two to the Parking Authority (James Walker, 2015, and Eric Kabel, 2016), one to the Planning Board (City Councilman Sal Mione, through 2012), and another to the Redevelopment Agency (Matt Dobrowolski, unexpired term through 2014).

When Ordinance O-3-12 (“Pay-to-Play”) came up on the agenda, 3rd Ward Councilman Jerry Scaturo and 4th Ward Councilman David Brown both pulled their sponsorship of the measure, which was set at last week’s pre-meeting conference. Neither addressed the move publicly. A copy of the four-page ordinance can be found in this Google Document file. The mayor had mentioned pay-to-play in his State of the City message last week (another Google Doc).

The mayor and City Council, all Democrats, have been at odds over the last half year or so, over a number of items, including reducing his salary and other staff appointments in the mayor’s office.